A unique model

well-positioned

Thanks to the Foundation's many scientific partners, AQUATIS is part of a particularly dense network of life and environmental sciences. The cradle of limnology - the scientific study of continental waters, founded towards the end of the 19th century by François-Alphonse Forel - the Lake Geneva metropolis positioned itself very early on as a precursor in the field of freshwater and sustainable development.

Guided by a constant concern for openness, the Lake Geneva region today boasts many internationally renowned research institutes and universities active in the fields of life sciences, the environment and renewable energies: Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), University of Lausanne (UNIL), University of Geneva (UNIGE), Forel Institute, Natural History Museum of the City of Geneva, Cantonal Museum of Zoology, etc.

The region is also the headquarters of international organisations working for the conservation and management of nature: World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF), International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), Ramsar Convention for Wetlands.

Thanks to its dynamism and the wealth of its community, the region has created an active pole both at European and international level favouring the emergence of new scientific, technological and architectural projects that contribute to the economic development of the whole region.

As the water tower of Europe, Switzerland is also a centre of excellence in the field of water resources and climate research, thanks to internationally renowned centres of competence such as the Centre for Climate Change Research at the University of Bern, the Centre for Hydrogeology and Geothermal Energy at the University of Neuchâtel (CHYN), and the EAWAG (Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology).

Missions

of the project

AQUATIS is an exchange platform that promotes the protection of ecosystems and sustainable development. This vision can be seen in all the missions of conservation, research and dissemination of knowledge, in accordance with the frameworks established by :

 

  • the International Council of Museums (ICOM);
  • the World Association of Zoos and Aquariums (WAZA);
  • the European Association of Zoos and Aquariums (EAZA);
  • other institutions in line with the values of AQUATIS.

 

To preserve living collections and promote the conservation of threatened natural environments.

AQUATIS is home to animal and plant species that it has the mission to preserve and make known. By presenting these species, some of which are endangered, to the public, AQUATIS aims to convey a strong message of preservation of fragile natural environments. The presence of living species also enables visitors to understand the complex notion of biodiversity.

Develop expertise in monitoring certain species and participate in research on fresh water and its ecosystems.

AQUATIS' mission is to conduct, in partnership with other research centres, notably EAZA, studies on certain poorly documented animal or plant species.

Disseminate knowledge and participate in education on the environment and sustainable development.

AQUATIS disseminates and promotes the knowledge acquired among the scientific community through its permanent and temporary exhibitions, the organisation of conferences and through its educational activities aimed at groups and schools. It provides a showcase for scientists to promote their research and transmit it in an attractive form to the general public. To this end, it collaborates with research organisations active in the fields of species conservation, the environment, water management and international cooperation.

In addition to disseminating knowledge, AQUATIS positions itself as a true forum for society, a place for exchange and debate, and raises awareness of the issues addressed. To do this, it uses the best techniques for popularising science and spectacular staging.

An architecture

and coherent installations

Within the framework of the construction of the complex, the concept of building physics and energy systems, designed by the consulting engineering office ER Energies Rationnelles SA, makes it possible to achieve a project that fully meets the criteria of rational use of energy and is in line with sustainable development.

The recommended materials are in line with this approach. The components of the "external skin" of the buildings have been optimised both from the point of view of thermal performance and investment costs. Similarly, the connection to the district heating network of the City of Lausanne's Industrial Services, which is based on the incineration of household waste, allows the use of renewable energy with low greenhouse gas emissions.

The cold production required for the entire complex is carried out by high-performance equipment operating with environmentally neutral fluids and optimising heat recovery. Centralized management of the platform's two buildings optimizes the synergies between two types of users while ensuring high reliability in the operation of technical equipment and increased energy efficiency.

Populations

and non-living collections

AQUATIS is home to animal and plant species that it has the mission to conserve, preserve and make known. The species presented allow the development of management and reproduction programmes for species, including those on the IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature) Red List of Species. The origin of the species and the breeding programmes are studied with the utmost care, taking into consideration the welfare of the animals according to the principles dictated by the EAZA (European Association of Zoos and Aquaria) code of ethics and the Swiss law on animal protection. AQUATIS conducts its activities according to the four axes determined by these international institutions, namely: conservation of wild populations, management of these populations, education and scientific research.

Populations linked to freshwater or in danger of extinction

Plant and animal collections are developed according to the ecosystems represented and the priorities established for conservation and preservation. Along the permanent visitor route, some forty aquariums, aquaterrariums and terrariums present ecosystems of major interest thanks to reconstructed decors.

Populations include many species of fish, amphibians, reptiles and plants. These populations can be closely contemplated by the visitor. They give them access to a remarkable natural heritage as well as the opportunity to observe certain singular animal behaviours.

Small aquariums, known as "observatories", allow smaller species to be presented and focus on certain problems (for example, the invasive crayfish in Lake Geneva).

Discover also

GROUPS

Privatization, School, Tour Operators, ...
Would you like to benefit from offers adapted to your group visit to AQUATIS? We certainly have an attractive offer for you! 

AQUATIS HOTEL

Families are of paramount importance in our establishment and it is important to us to offer the best services for all generations. Aquatis Hotel combines leisure, education and pedagogy.

RESTAURANT LE PIRANHA

Immerse yourself with our boarders the piranhas that will keep you company during your meal!

Un modèle unique

inscrit dans un contexte favorable

Grâce aux nombreux partenaires scientifiques de la Fondation, AQUATIS s’intègre au sein d’un réseau de sciences de la vie et de l’environnement particulièrement dense. Berceau de la limnologie – l’étude scientifique des eaux continentales, fondée vers la fin du 19ème siècle par François-Alphonse Forel – la métropole lémanique s’est positionnée très tôt en précurseur dans le domaine des eaux douces et du développement durable.

Guidé par un souci constant d’ouverture, l’arc lémanique compte aujourd’hui de nombreux instituts de recherche et universités de renommée internationale actifs dans les domaines des sciences de la vie, de l’environnement et des énergies renouvelables : Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Université de Lausanne (UNIL), Université de Genève (UNIGE), Institut Forel, Muséum d’histoire naturelle de la Ville de Genève, Musée cantonal de zoologie, etc.

La région est également le siège d’organisations internationales oeuvrant pour la conservation et la gestion de la nature : Fonds mondial pour la nature (WWF), Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature (UICN), Convention de Ramsar pour les zones humides.

Par son dynamisme et la richesse de sa communauté, la région a su créer un pôle actif à la fois au niveau européen et international favorisant l’émergence de nouveaux projets scientifiques,technologiques et architecturaux qui contribuent au développement économique de toute la région.

Château d’eau de l’Europe, la Suisse est aussi un pôle d’excellence dans le domaine de la recherche sur les ressources en eau et sur le climat, grâce à des centres de compétence d’envergure internationale tels que le le Centre pour la recherche sur le changement climatique de l’Université de Berne, le Centre d’Hydrogéologie et de Géothermie de l’Université de Neuchâtel (CHYN), ou encore l’EAWAG (Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology).

Missions

du projet

AQUATIS est une plateforme d’échange qui promeut la protection des écosystèmes et le développement durable. Cette vision se profile dans l’ensemble des missions de conservation, de recherche et de diffusion des connaissances, conformément aux cadres établis par :

  • le Conseil International des Musées (ICOM) ;
  • la World Association of Zoos and Aquariums (WAZA) ;
  • l’Association Européenne des Zoos et Aquariums (EAZA) ;
  • d’autres institutions conformes aux valeurs d’AQUATIS.

Préserver des collections vivantes et promouvoir la conservation des milieux naturels menacés.

AQUATIS abrite des espèces animales et des végétaux qu’il a la mission de préserver et de faire connaître. En présentant au public ces espèces, dont certaines sont menacées, AQUATIS vise à faire passer un message fort de préservation des milieux naturels fragiles. La présence d’espèces vivantes permet également aux visiteurs d’appréhender la notion complexe de biodiversité.

Développer une expertise dans le monitoring de certaines espèces et participer à la recherche sur l’eau douce et ses écosystèmes.

AQUATIS a pour mission de mener, en partenariat avec d’autres centres de recherche, notamment l’EAZA, des études sur certaines espèces animales ou végétales peu documentées.

Diffuser des connaissances et participer à l’éducation à l’environnement et au développement durable.

AQUATIS diffuse et met en valeur les connaissances acquises auprès de la communauté scientifique grâce à ses expositions permanentes et temporaires, l’organisation de conférences ainsi qu’au travers de ses activités pédagogiques destinées aux groupes et aux écoles. Il offre une vitrine aux scientifiques pour valoriser leur recherche et la transmettre sous forme attractive au grand public. Pour ce faire, il collabore avec des organismes de recherche actifs dans les domaines de la conservation des espèces, de l’environnement, de la gestion de l’eau et de la coopération internationale.

Au-delà de la diffusion des connaissances, AQUATIS se positionne en véritable forum de société, lieu d’échanges et de débats, et suscite une prise de conscience des problématiques abordées. Il utilise pour cela les meilleures techniques de vulgarisation scientifique et une mise en scène spectaculaire.

Une architecture

et des installations cohérentes

Dans le cadre de la construction du complexe, le concept de physique du bâtiment et des systèmes énergétiques, conçu par le bureau d’ingénieurs conseils ER Energies Rationnelles SA, permet d’aboutir à une réalisation répondant pleinement aux critères d’utilisation rationnelle de l’énergie et allant dans le sens du développement durable.

Les matériaux préconisés s’inscrivent dans cette démarche. Les composants de la « peau extérieure » des bâtiments ont été optimisés tant du point de vue des performances thermiques que des coûts d’investissement. De même, le raccordement au réseau de chauffage à distance des Services Industriels de la Ville de Lausanne, lequel repose sur l’incinération des ordures ménagères, permet l’utilisation d’une énergie renouvelable, à faible émission de gaz à effet de serre.

La production de froid nécessaire pour tout le complexe est réalisée par des équipements performants fonctionnant avec des fluides neutres pour l’environnement et optimisant la récupération de chaleur. Une gestion centralisée des deux bâtiments de la plateforme optimise les synergies de deux types d’utilisateurs tout en assurant une grande fiabilité d’exploitation des équipements techniques ainsi qu’une efficacité énergétique accrue.

Les populations

et les collections non-vivantes

AQUATIS abrite des espèces animales et végétales qu’il a pour mission de conserver, de préserver et de faire connaître. Les espèces présentées permettent de mettre en valeur des programmes de gestion et de reproduction d’espèces ; y compris celles présentes sur la Liste Rouge des Espèces de l’UICN (Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature). L’origine des espèces et les programmes de reproduction sont étudiés avec le plus grand soin en considérant le bien-être des animaux selon les principes dictés par le code éthique de l’EAZA (European Association of Zoos and Aquaria) et la loi suisse sur la protection des animaux. AQUATIS conduit ses activités selon les quatre axes déterminés par ces institutions internationales, à savoir : la conservation des populations sauvages, la gestion de ces populations, l’éducation et la recherche scientifique.

Des populations en lien avec l’eau douce ou en danger d’extinction

Les collections d’espèces animales et végétales s’élaborent suivant les écosystèmes représentés et les priorités établies en matière de conservation et de préservation. Le long du parcours de visite permanent, une quarantaine d’aquariums, d’aquaterrariums et de terrariums présentent des écosystèmes d’intérêt majeur grâce à des décors reconstitués.

Les populations comprennent de nombreuses espèces de poissons, d’amphibiens, de reptiles et de végétaux. Ces populations peuvent être contemplées de près par le visiteur. Elles lui permettent d’accéder à un patrimoine naturel remarquable ainsi que d’observer certains comportements animaliers singuliers.

De petits aquariums, dénommés « observatoires », permettent de présenter des espèces de plus petite taille et de faire un focus sur certaines problématiques (par exemple les écrevisses invasives dans le Léman).

Découvrez également

GROUPES

Privatisation, Scolaires, Tour Opérateurs, ...
Vous souhaitez bénéficier d'offres adaptées à votre venue en groupe à AQUATIS? Nous avons assurément une offre attractive pour vous ! 

AQUATIS HOTEL

Les familles occupent une place primordiale dans notre établissement et il nous tient à cœur d’offrir le meilleur des services pour toutes les générations. Aquatis Hotel combine loisir, éducation et pédagogie.

RESTAURANT LE PIRANHA

Immergez-vous avec nos pensionnaires les piranhas qui vous tiendront compagnie pendant votre repas !